top of page
Ảnh của tác giảChíp Phan

Megan Rapinoe wins thanks to her faith in God

Megan Rapinoe wins thanks to her faith in God



Megan Rapinoe is one of the most famous and influential soccer players in the world. She has won two World Cups, an Olympic gold medal, and numerous individual awards. She is also an outspoken advocate for social justice, LGBTQ+ rights, and equal pay. But what many people may not know is that Rapinoe is also a person of faith who credits God for her success.

Rapinoe was raised in a conservative Christian family in northern California. She grew up across the street from a church and attended a Christian school. She told Yahoo! that her faith was “a huge part of my life growing up.” She also said that she still believes in God and prays before every game.




“I think God wants people to be happy,” she said. “I think God wants people to love themselves and love other people and be respectful of other people.”

Rapinoe came out as gay in 2012 and has been dating WNBA star Sue Bird since 2016. She said that being queer has not affected her relationship with God, but rather enriched it.

“I feel like I have such a closer connection to God now because I’m being honest with myself,” she said. “And I feel like I can have more of a genuine relationship with God because I’m not lying or hiding anything.”


Rapinoe is currently playing in her fourth and final Women’s World Cup in New Zealand. She has played a limited role on the field, but has been a leader and mentor off it. She said that she is grateful for the opportunity to represent her country and her faith on the world stage.

“I think God has given me this amazing platform to do good things in the world and to inspire people and to help people,” she said. “And I think that’s what God wants from all of us.”



1 lượt xem0 bình luận

Bài đăng gần đây

Xem tất cả

Comments


bottom of page